Trent Bridge / Seasons

The world’s third oldest test match venue.

Trent Bridge


1912 Team 1912

The Committee's Report 1912

The Committee beg to present the Annual Balance Sheet and Report for 1912.

Of the 21 First Class Matches played, 6 were won, 8 drawn, 6 lost, and one abandoned.

The County was eighth in the Championship. The season was a most disappointing one after a brilliant start.
Mr. A.O. Jones and J. Gunn batted well on the wet wicket which characterised the season.

Wass and Iremonger bowled well and worked hard, but the County needs a fast bowler badly.

Mr. Jones captained the side with ability and energy.

Oates kept wicket, as usual, excellently.

The cricket season opened soon after the close of the long period when nearly every industry in the County was at a complete standstill. The wet weather affected the gate receipts greatly; the takings at no less than 5 of the matches being under £50 each.

The County beat Australians and made a most creditable draw with the South Africans; both matches, however, show a financial loss owing to the treacherous weather.

The attendance at the Test Match Australia v South Africa at Trent Bridge was very disappointing, it was marred by unsettled weather during the whole 3 days. There was also an unfortunate lack of interest in the Triangular Tests, all over England.

Three District Colts Matches and 9 Club and Ground Matches were played 6 were won, 3 lost and 3 drawn.

The following matches have been arranged: One match at Lords v M.C.C., Home and away matches with Kent, Yorkshire, Lancashire, Middlesex, Surrey, Sussex, Leicestershire, Gloucestershire, Derbyshire and Hampshire the latter is a new fixture and it is hoped will prove attractive.

As an experiment the match with Derbyshire at Trent Bridge will be played on a Friday, Saturday and Monday.

The President of the Club most generously contributed £100 to the Funds.

The Committee again set aside the sum of £300 to the Player's Benefit Fund, which now amounts to £2,098 11s 11. The Fund will close at the end of the present year.

Subscriptions will be invited to it during the coming season. Subscribers can either give to the Fund, in which case the amount will be divided between the players, or they can earmark such subscriptions as they care to make for the benefit of any particular player or players. The players are G. Gunn, J. Gunn, Hallam, Iremonger, Oates and Wass.

W. H. Tomasson, Hon, Secreaty
H. Turner, Secretary

Image Library

  • 1912 Team 1912

Related Articles